Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Alan gave me the sweetest compliment. For Christmas he gave me a new Bible.

Probably most of you are like me. It is hard to break in a new Bible. The one I am trying to retire I have used for 14 years. It is stained, taped together, marked in, and even a little torn, but I can turn to almost any passage that has really spoken to me in an instant. It is better than any pair of old jeans or favorite old t-shirt. I have references to passages that no cross-reference will help with. It is like a best friend speaking words of love and comfort, but also firm rebukes at my arrogance.

I am excited to break my new Bible in. It is a slow process. With each fresh look at the word I will hopefully become a clearer reflection of my most amazing Savior.

I mentioned to him that I can’t wait until I break it in.

“It won’t take long,” he said.

That is sweeter than any compliment I would ever fish for. I love that man of mine.

Tags: , ,

