Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I remember the very first time I grasped the understanding of God’s name. Most people think God’s name is, well, God. They may also refer to Him as The Father, or a number of other names. His name is “I AM”.

I was barely watching the Ten Commandments one time a few years ago. It was when the Israelites were still in slavery. One of the actors replied, “we don’t even know God’s name. How is he going to save us.” Up until the burning bush, they had only known God as “the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.” No wonder they were so skeptical. Would you want to vote for an anonymous President? I think not.

I AM doesn’t seem like much of a name. When it is stated like that it seems impersonal to me. I think the better way to read his name is like this:

I AM. . . .

Nicole Nordeman produced a song several years ago titled I AM. No matter the phase of life, or the need we have, good times, or very hard times it is God that is the I AM of my circumstance. He identifies with what I am going through, but more than that, He completes it. He fills my deepest need by sending his son, Jesus, to clear out the hole left by sin, and fill it with Himself.

I will be weak, unable to speak,
still I will call You by name
“Creator, Maker, Life-sustainer,
Comforter, Healer, My Redeemer,
Lord and King, Beginning and
the End, I am, yes, I am.”

This will be the first of several posts in this category. Let the journey begin as we discover who I AM is.

Tags: , , ,

