Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Today we drove over 300 miles so that our oldest could take her 5th grade writing test. (We use online public school materials, and have to take our state tests at the school’s main location.) I wish we had more time to enjoy some of the things we saw.

A friend of mine told me about this McD’s. It is sitting over Interstate 44. Sorry the picture is not that great. It’s hard to get a good shot while driving, exiting a highway, and looking through the windshield.

The kids got ice cream before our long drive home, and I downed a cup of coffee while watching the traffic pass below.

While passing through Tulsa I saw a business I would have never imagined. The business was called “The Skunk whisperers.” I have discovered in my short time in OK that it is always windy here, the mud is red, and there are a lot of skunks.

For a short while we were also on Route 66. The kids like Rt. 66 because of the movie CARS. By time we passed through the town on the way home everything was closed for the day. We weren’t able to go into any of the little museums.

The other day I mentioned to Alan how the historic towns here look more western than in other places we lived. That probably seems like a “DUH” moment, after all we are in the west now. I enjoy looking at the buildings. I guess it’s because you always see western towns in movies, but it’s neat to see the real thing.

We made it home and I every bit feel like I have been on the road all day

Tags: ,

