Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

The kids never understand why they can’t get away with anything. I was the same way when I was a kid. They think they are being so sneaky when they eat sugar out of the bowl, sneak an extra snack, or break some thing. I think it is part of the “I can’t see you, so you can’t see me.” Never mind the fact that I can hear what they are doing or that they seems to always leave a trail of sugar all over the counter tops.They are convinced that I really do have eyes in the back of my head.

The other thing they can’t figure out is how I always seem to know when they are lying. No, I am not a mind reader, but their smirk or lack of eye contact gives it away every time.

The other day J. asked how I could tell he was lying, so we had a lesson in reading body language. I had him practice looking at me and telling me something completely false. He couldn’t do it without looking away or smirking. I then took a turn to show him. I looked him square in the eye and said, “Your skin is purple.” I must have been pretty convincing. He looked down at him arm to see for himself.

I shouldn’t teach them how to lie. I know that as they grow they will figure it out all on their own. I do enjoy having the upper hand, for now.

Tags:

