Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

On Saturday we finally were able to have Daphne. In case you missed our adoption notice, we are in the process of adopting a greyhound. Greyhounds are the sweetest, most gentle, shy dogs I have ever met. I think she fits right in to the family. She is tall, thin and muscular like our oldest daughter. She is shy yet playful like our son. She has an adorable cuteness like Sweet T. and she makes a mess when she eats like our baby.

In the couple of days we have had her home, she seems to be adjusting well. I thought the high-pitched squeals of the girls would bother her, but it doesn’t seem to. M. being the smallest of the kids, has even adjusted well to having a pet that is as big as she is.

The only major adjustment for me is the constant shadow. I have adopted the Police song, “Every Breath You Take” as her song.  Every breath you take  Every move you make  Every bond you break  Every step you take I’ll be watching you Literally every time I turn around I am either tripping or stepping on Daphne. She follows me all over the house. If you ever want to know where Daphne is, just find me. I hope no one in the house is jealous of the attention she gives me. In time she will (hopefully) follow all of us around.

I love that there are no longer crumbs under the table, and I think there must be a stash of cereal under the couch cushions, because she is constantly trying to investigate them. We also need to get a lid for the trash to slow her down. One last comment, she is the most obedient, well-trained, loving, fast, quiet, sweet, and all around greatest pet I have had. Sure, she isn’t exactly a puppy (at three years old), but I have been stricken with puppy love.

Tags: , ,

