Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I love Spring. There is something about the warmer afternoons and more amounts of daylight that motivates me. The freshness of early Spring breezes inspire new beginnings. The drab outdoors begins to come to life everyday with more color. First the daffodils spring from the ground, the grass begins to change from its dismal brown to bright green, and trees begin to show those first buds.

Tidiness seems to spring from within me as well. Those unfinished winter projects suddenly are inspiring again.

This chair belonged to our oldest daughter. She has had it since she was two, and boy did it show. Alan wanted to throw it out, but I kept promising to recover it, even though I know NOTHING about recovering furniture. NOTHING, nada, zero, zip, zilch. With that in mind, I am pretty impressed with myself in how well it turned out. (Never mind the edges sticking out of the seat area.) Next time, I’ll throw it out. I spent as much in fabric, staple gun, and foam as I did with the original price, but it did turn out cute.

My other project I am finishing today are my chairs. I have decided to spray paint them black. What an easy way to re-finish old wood. Spray paint is a wonderful idea for anyone wanting to redecorate on a budget. You can paint any material now, including wood, plastic, and metal. They even have spray primer. My next project will probably to co-ordinate my photo frames with some fresh paint.

