Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I am a sucker for a good children’s book. I love to read a story with a subtle message, but more than anything the book should contain something very childlike. I think some of the things I enjoy are the humor, maybe some inquisitive qualities, definitely needs to have a child’s innocence, but could include a slight adult point of view hidden between the lines.

Today I took the kids to see the musical based off the book How I Became a Pirate. Personally, I am not a huge fan of musicals, but if the music is chipper enough I find myself getting caught up into the lyrics. Our oldest, however, lives in a musical. She is always making up sound tracks to her everyday life.

This is what the kids thought of the play:

The oldest, “I thought it was good and funny. My favorite pirate was the funny one with glasses.”

The boy, “It was good. ” (he is a guy of very few words)

The baby, “Those pirates are good guys?” she said as we were leaving. She was a little afraid of them when they were trying to say hi, but that’s how my kids are. Even the Easter bunny scares them.

I am also including a slide show from the play it’s self. Warning: no flash was used during the taking of these photos, so there are a few blurry images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: ,

