Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

The kids and I are on a mini-vacation of sorts while our oldest daughter takes her end-of year testing. I forgot one of my bags at home. The kids were helping me load the van, and it would be easy to blame them, but I realized it was my fault. This morning, before taking A. to her test, we made a quick run to Wal-Mart so the little girls and I wouldn’t have to wear the same clothes for the next two days. (Although mine were relatively “clean-looking, the girls’ showed evidence of their last two meals.)

As we were checking out we met a very sweet older woman. She asked about the kids being out of school today, because of the time and their ages, which I replied that we were home schoolers. The next few minutes of our conversation tickled me. I know we all have an idea about things we don’t really know, and those ideas lead to misconceptions of what is real, and so this is how the conversation continued:

“Do you go to church?” she asked.

yes, I answered.

“which one?” I had already mentioned to her that we were from out-of-town. Not sure why she needed to know. So I told her anyway.

“I can see why you home school, the way this world is headed. Times are-a-changin (that probably isn’t a direct quote). Things are getting so expensive. We’re in the end times, ” she said. I didn’t say anything. She looked at me. “You do believe that, don’t you?”

Don’t get me wrong, I think Jesus’ return could be near, but not tomorrow or anything. Not even in a week. or a month. or a year. I could be wrong, but I don’t think this is why things are more expensive or why there is crime. These things have always been around. If you study the world during the Roman period you may be surprised at how similar our societies are. I didn’t want to go there, so I said, “yes, of course.”

“Of course you do,” She said. Then she started to talk about some Bible teachers she watches on T.V. “Have you heard what (she) says?”

“No, ma’am,” I said. “I don’t watch her show.”

“Do you have a T.V.,” She asked.

This is where I was tickled the most. I’m not really sure how not watching a certain Bible teacher would mean that I don’t have a T.V. Maybe she meant had I heard of her, or at least seen her on the T.V. For whatever reason though, not watching this particular “teacher” meant I didn’t believe in television.

“We have T.V. I just don’t have time to watch it, with the kids and all,” I answered back. Now imagine four kids running around the basket this whole time while our items were being checked out.

“yes, I guess gathering them together to watch (her) probably wouldn’t work,” she said.

I love how people make life so interesting, don’t you? If we take each persons’ experience from life they are so different and yet so similar. Even if you take kids from the same set of parents, they will experience life so differently from each other. I love to people watch. You make life seem three-dimensional for me.

