Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I love simple meals.

I love simple meals that taste great and bust me out of my cooking routine. The following recipe was taken from Southern Living February 2009 issue.

This one also makes use of my favorite ingredients (for the moment): limes

Coconut-Lime Rice

1 cup light coconut milk

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 cups uncooked jasmine rice (I used long-grain white rice, because this is what I had on hand.)

1 tsp. lime zest

1 1/2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice

1. Bring coconut milk, salt, and 2 cups of water to a boil in a saucepan. Stir in rice, cover, reduce heat to low heat and simmer, stirring occasionally (20-25 min.) Stir in lime zest and juice.

In the meantime, while the rice is cooking. . .

Thai Pesto Shrimp

1 1/2 large raw shrimp (16/20 count) (I bought the peeled, deveined, and de-tailed frozen shrimp for simplicity.I hate to clean out that little poo-poo vein)

1 cup loosely packed fresh cilantro leaves (another personal fave)

3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice

2 TBSP. unsalted roasted peanuts (I didn’t have this on hand, so I left it out. Still tasted great)

2 Tbsp. fresh ginger, minced (Is there anything that smells better than fresh ginger?!)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. kosher salt, or 3/4 tsp. table salt

2 tsp. honey

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper If you like it a little spicier or less, add more or less

Olive oil

1. Prepare shrimp (peel and devein) I didn’t take my shrimp out of the freezer until I started preparing dinner. I ran cold water over the shrimp in a colander throughout the preparation. They were defrosted to cook in a short amount of time.

2. Meanwhile, process cilantro, the next 7 ingredients and 3 Tbsp of olive oil in a food processor or blender until smooth, scraping down the sides as needed

3. Saute shrimp in 1 Tbsp. hot oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat 3-5 minutes or until the shrimp turn pink. Stir in cilantro pesto. Serve over rice

This is a family favorite. Even the little girls liked it. The shrimp has a sweet flavor that blends so well with the tart limes. The thick, almost creamy rice is a perfect accent for the flavorful pesto sauce. It’s making my mouth water just to think about it.

Tags: ,

