Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

. . .I mean BOGGED down.

It’s that time of year that I, being a homeschool mom say to myself, “we’ve done enough school work for this year,” and we call it quits. Not so this year. We must endure the last week of school, but I have about a bazillion other things to be doing, which is why I haven’t blogged.

It’s not that I have nothing to write about. Last week was full of great material. Including, but not limited to: a birthday party, a zoo trip, Renaissance Festival, my strange dreams about Ecuador, how wonderful my mom is and how I wish to be just like her, and the tornado that ripped through my neck of the woods.

Oh yes, I have much to say.

I am feeling a little bit like “if you give a mouse a cookie” this morning. One random thought leads to another and eventually I will come around to what I was really wanting to say.

Some call it A.D.D.

So I will briefly catch you up beginning with yesterday and go backwards.

We have been practicing our tornado drills since we moved here in August. When we told people who we were moving to Oklahoma almost everyone responded with, “you are 500 times more likely to be hit with a tornado in OK than NC.” We have not been let down. Although there were no close tornados to us, many people will be gathering their emotions, thanking God for their lives, and starting over today. It is amazing to me to see the beauty and power of creation. Seeing the image on the news of the tornado in the sunset will be forever etched in my mind.

We are finishing up school and at the same time preparing for a mission trip. Our kids will close the school year up on the 18th of this month (I’m thinking we’ll have half days.) Then we leave for Ecuador, via Louisiana on the 19th. I know I am stressed because I keep having bad dreams about our arrival. The first one I left my passport at home and made it all the way to Quito before realizing it. The second dream was that I put my purse down (but it didn’t look like the purse I use) at a wedding we were at in Ecuador, except it looked like California not Ecuador. Anyway, someone stole my purse and all the money in it. I was bummed. Then I woke up. I think I read somewhere that dreams are related to stress.

This morning I ran into the store to pick up a couple of things. When I pulled into the spot there was a bag of mulch with the word eucalyptus on it. For some reason this struck me as funny. Eucalyptus.

Eucalyptus. Eucalyptus.

Yea, I’m stressed.

What was I saying?

