Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Summer time has begun. It’s a toss-up about my summer favorites.

the fresh vegetables and fruit. . .

the late mornings to sleep in. . .

the long afternoons/evenings. . .

having an excuse to eat ice cream almost everyday. . .

sitting on the beach. . .

visiting with family. . .

vacation Bible school. . .

mission trips. . .

I could go on and on. There is nothing like having kids that brings out your own mother in you. This week I have already said things I remember hearing from my own mom during the summer:

“You’re bored?! Would you rather be going to school? If your bored I can find something for you to do. . . “

and

“You are not going to stay up late at night and sleep all day.”

I am my mother. I can admit it.

When we were growing up I always wanted to be like “my friends” who seemed to have such exciting summers. We never really went any where. Our family vacation was always a trip to Colorado to see our extended family that lived there. Most of the time was spent playing outside while the grown-ups visited or sitting in the living room while the grown-ups visited. Don’t get me wrong. I have a lot of good memories, but our family never “took a vacation”.

Being all grown-up now and not living near immediate family, I understand the reasons why. It costs money, there is only so much time off, you never get a chance to visit that family, it costs money. . . You get the point.

We are on the eve of our own family vacation/family visiting trip. For the rest of June we are going to be making an “East Coast Tour.” (With the exception of our most northerly east coast family. We will see you all in August.) I’ve got it all planned out. Soaking up the sun on the beach, eating, laughing, sleeping, and then doing it all again. The kids and I even went to the pool yesterday to get a little pre-burned for the trip. There is nothing like careful planning and preparation to help things go smoothly.

Of course the Oldest said to me the other day, “Next summer can we spend more time at home?”

I laughed to myself. I always wanted to have a busy summer growing up, and now my daughter is asking for the opposite. You just can’t please anyone.

So this is my Happy Summer wish to all of you. May you make the most of everyday. Whether you are standing in line at a theme park, getting burned in the sun, or simply sleeping in. Enjoy today for all it’s worth, and before you know it, summer will come to an end.

