Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Dad’s are so hard to buy gifts for. When you were a kid you could draw your daddy a picture with flowers and you and him. As a teen it was good to buy dad a new tool or a necktie and shirt. The older I get then more meaningful I think a gift should be, but at the same time it’s hard to find that “perfect” gift.

I was reading the paper this morning when I ran across and article about this very same issue. It is found in the St. Petersburg Times: “Get Dad a do-good rat.” There are rats that have been trained to sniff out and detect land mines. They can be trained to sniff out in 20 minutes what it takes a person two days to search. They also are very good at detecting tuberculosis. For only $35 you can purchase a year supply of bananas to feed one rat. Now that’s a lot of bananas.

Think of the time and money you spend in going to a store to find the gift. Not only do you have to buy a gift, but also spend a couple bucks on a card to go with it. If you are like me, you then have to mail the gift to your dad, spending another additional 8 dollars.

Maybe large mine sniffing rodents isn’t your idea of a great gift. What about providing a family with farm animals? clothes? or even drinkable, safe water? I’ve given some of those things in the past to family as well. Forget buying the coffee mug that will be lost in the kitchen cabinet. (My dad doesn’t even drink coffee.) For only twelve dollars you can buy a family two ducks that will provide food and income.

A great idea instead of a card is to go back to making one. Write a letter or even a quick note telling your dad how much he has meant to you. Maybe you don’t have a good relationship with yours? Tell someone who had been a fatherly figure to you how much it means for him to show you love.

Don’t like these particular ideas, but want to find a gift that’s your own? Check out the following websites:

World Vision Online Donations:Gift Catalog.

GlobalGiving

National Fatherhood Initiative

World of Money

Welcome to Riders For Health 

All this to say, dad I love you. Because you have taught me to show love to others I have decided to celebrate with you in giving hope to someone else. You have modeled generosity and compassion so this year I hope to give you more than a coffee mug. My gift is to thank you for all that you have taught me (and tried to teach me, but I was too stubborn to listen). I love you dad. Happy Fathers Day!

Tags: , ,

