Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

All fathers have them. No matter how hard a father tries, he will end up saying them. What is a dadism? It’s something your dad tells you, usually more than once. They are full of meaning, or so your dad means. Let’s see if I can show you:

When I was your age. . . this is usually followed with some extreme example like “we would walk to school up hill, both ways barefoot in the snow. It’s meant to exemplify how hard it was when he grew up and how easy it is for us.

Have you been drinking muddy water? This was always said to me when I was standing in front of the T.V. in the way

The principles of . . . this was usually followed with a lecture about responsibility. The all-time favorite was “the principles of principles.”

If you get hurt, don’t come running to me. This is usually said when you are doing something you shouldn’t but dad is too tired (or busy watching a game) to make you stop.

Turn that racket down, I can’t hear myself think. By racket, dad means music

This is going to hurt me more than it hurts you.  This was usually said before we were spanked, but there is no way it hurt him more.

You better stop crying, or I’m gonna give you something to cry about. The scary thing is that I have found myself saying this same thing to my own kids.

Don’t make me pull over.  and boy did he mean it. I remember one time he pulled over (there were seven of us kids crammed in the car) because my brothers were fighting. He didn’t have a belt on that day, so he used part of a shredded tire. Needless to say, they stopped fighting after that.

How many times do I have to tell you not to. . . Usually this was a warning that dad’s patience was running thin and I am about to be in big trouble.

This of course is just to name a few. What about you, what are some of the funny and fatherly dadism you heard growing up? Dad, happy Father’s day. Thanks for all your fatherly wisdom.

Tags: , ,

