Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

On part of our vacation we drove out to the Appalachian Mountains to visit a general store called the Mast Store. Our boy was asking me questions about the old store and what it was like “back in the day.” As I was describing the types of things they would have probably sold I realized that the general stores were to the early settlers what Wal-Mart is to us today.

Although I can’t give you the history of this Mast store, there were two of them in this town. The second one we went to had half of the bottom floor dedicated to candy, much of it “old” candy that is hard to find in stores today (with maybe the exception of Cracker Barrel- or as my kids call it “crackle barrel”)..

If my kids were to design heaven this is close to what it would look like. . .

You get the idea. Total sugar-high bliss.

My favorites were some of the novelty things in the shop. . .

If I were  mountain person I would have this pair of P.J.’s. It says “bear bottom”

“This is the song that never ends, it just goes on and on my friend. . . ”

Since when is Gumby an old classic toy? I grew up with Gumby. What does that say about me?!

If I had this sign in my house it would be pointing to the door.

There’s nothing like drinking an ice-cold soda pop with your grandpa, talking away on a hot summer afternoon.

Tags: , , ,

