Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”
Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places You’ll Go!)

Possibilities are endless when you’re a kid. I remember I wanted to be a teacher AND the president one day. Little thought was given that these two careers paths had little to do with each other.

This is how my boy thinks.

He is constantly thinking and wondering about life. I love it!!!

However I get a big kick out of his inquisitiveness, because he doesn’t just ask me things like, “what makes a car go?” No, he always asks impossible questions. You know, the kinds of things that will NEVER happen. And he doesn’t just ask, he seriously wants an answer.

For example, today at lunch we were eating at a buffet (so that all in our family could get something they like to eat and I didn’t have to eat fries because I have no will power and I didn’t want to have to wait for lunch on Sunday after church.) The boy was eating his usual plain noodles and cheese. He says to me, “What if there was a noodle as big as the earth?”

How do you answer that?

Is the noodle long and skinny, but goes all the way around the earth, or is it as thick and big as the earth?

If I happen to answer him, he usually has a completely different scenario planned out in his mind. This of course leads to more questions. Oh and I forgot to mention, almost always it is when I am trying to wrangle up the crew to go, or I’m in the middle of something. Some inconvenient time to stop and think about the “what ifs”.

Of course then I am humbled (which happens often when you have children) at the reminders to dream. After all, it is our dreams that drive us on to bigger and better things. So, boy of mine, I hope to not quench that wonderful mind of yours with the boring realities. Continue to wonder and expect to see great things

“So…
be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray
or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,
you’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!”
Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places You’ll Go!)

