Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Have you ever been about your normal business and then you read or hear something that unexpectedly rattles your world? You know how it is. . .your mind is obsessed with the occurrence and everything you hear and see from that point bring you back to that one thing.

The other evening I was reading in my Bible looking for some other reference and I came across this.

I live in a high and holy place,

but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit,

to revive the spirit of the lowly

and to revive the heart of the contrite.

Isaiah 57:15

Of course this is God speaking here. Previously in this chapter God is talking to the people who have turned from following Him to idols. He compares their turning to other idols with committing adultery (verse 8). In God’s silence they have lost all fear of His Righteousness and Holiness, but now they will see His anger. Only those that take refuge in God will be spared his judgment. This is where we pick up the previous verse.

It was a good reminder to me about the perfect ways of God. It’s easy in the hub-bub of life to forget. I know I get in such a routine that I feel secure that my life is in my hands. But it’s not. The day after I read this passage I was visiting with a new friend who shared with me how fragile life is. She had lost her husband unexpectedly two years previously and is now raising their two kids alone. She shared how she never saw it coming. Life is fragile.

“I will not accuse forever, nor will I always be angry,

for then the spirit of man would grow faint before me-

the breath of man that I have created…

I have seen his ways

but

I

will

heal

him;

I will guide him and restore comfort to him,

Creating praise on the lips of the mourners. . .

Peace

Peace

to those far and near,”

says the Lord,

“and

I

will

heal

him.”

Isaiah 57:16,18-19

Many people want the Love and Forgiveness of God without the Holiness and Righteousness of God. They think if God is Holy He can’t be loving and vice verse. I think you can’t separate them, though. He gives us His Holiness when he offers us forgiveness, and when we experience the love of God we are also being made righteous.

However when we hold out and refuse the righteousness of God this is our end:

But the wicked are like the tossing sea,

which CANNOT rest,

whose waves cast up mire and mud.

“There

is

no

peace,”

says my God,

“for the wicked.”

Isaiah 57:20-21

One of the most humbling revelations I have ever had was that God, who created the entire world and is alone perfect in all His ways actually desires to have a relationship with me. He wants to know me, but more than that. For me to know him.

I hope you listen to the song I included below. One of the lines says this: I have wasted so much time pushing you away from me. I could never see how you could cherish me. You’re a God who has all things and still you want me. Stop pushing God away. Stop churning up mire and mud hoping to find peace in yourself. You won’t. There is nothing in me that compares to the Holiness of God.


Tags: ,

