Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

9 11

for the rest of this generation that number will never be the same.

the day America stood still

Like everyone I know, I will never forget when I first heard the news.

I was at work, returning from dropping kids off at school for the childcare center I worked at. I heard an announcement on the radio that a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center moments before.

I was about 6 months pregnant.

My director warned me not to watch the news, but after working all day I had to know for myself what had happened.

I remember later in the afternoon we were outside with our neighbors. We both had two-year olds, and it seemed more appropriate to let them play than have them see the images over and over on the television. We were outside and we noticed that way up in the sky there was a plane flying by. It was strange because that was the only plane we saw that day. (Normally we would see many planes taking off or coming in.)

I realize that the media will probably broadcast a lot more about 9.11 next year for the ten-year anniversary, but I felt the desire to reflect back and remember.

I remember talking with one of my brothers. He asked me if people we being as patriotic in our city as they were where he was. (They live near D.C.). One of the images that sticks out the most in my head is how patriotic we became. At a stop light people were passing out small flags to every car. In schools, parents made red, white and blue things to pass out for people to wear.

It seemed as if, no matter where you were, you were suddenly connected to each other with the reminder about how mortal we really are.

I hate to say it, but I miss that.

I hope you take some time to think about the last nine years. How have you changed? What do you remember?

