Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I love, love, love baking cookies at Christmas. I think somewhere back in my mind I intend to bake in order to give them away, but I am the biggest procrastinator in sending things in the mail. In fact, this post is a reminder that I need to get those last-minute gifts in the mail this week.

This week was party week. It seemed like every night there was some sort of activity for us to appear in. Alan’s birthday was also this week, which made it extremely difficult to make it seem special. One particular night we were to be at two different places at the same time. No wonder Christmas is so stressful! Because none of us were born with supernatural abilities to be in two places at once, we were to appear late to a dinner and come with dessert.

I decided to bring a platter of different bite size desserts, because I am one of those people who like to try a little of every dessert whenever there is a potluck. In my typical last-minute way, I had gone to the store that morning to pick up the items to make these terrific desserts I found on the Betty Crocker website. The first is Nanaimo Cookie Bars. The second one is called Crème Brûlée Cheesecake Bars.

Because I put off making the cookies until that morning, when I was buying the ingredients I couldn’t find the package of Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie mix that was needed. I made an executive decision to not shop around town to try to find it but substitute regular Chocolate Chip Cookie mix.

The Creme Brulee Cheesecake bars take longer to make/prepare so I started with them. Getting that recipe into the oven I moved on to the Nanaimo Bars. As I was getting the ingredients together I realized that I used the wrong cookie mix with the Cheesecake bars. I had made them with the Chocolate Chip Cookie crust and not a sugar cookie mix. With no time to start over I went with it. I made the Nanaimo Bars with a Sugar cookie Crust (which technically was going to be wrong anyway, because it was supposed to be Double Chocolate Chunk- remember?!)

The result was delicious. I have no idea how these taste when prepared the correct way, but no matter which way you try, please make these cookies. And share them with someone else, perhaps even over a cup of coffee.

Tags:

