Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I think there is nothing sweeter than sharing with the kids the love I have for their father. Sweet T. in particularly is always asking me about my wedding rings. She always wants to know, “are they real diamonds?”

One time (which happens often) I forgot to put them on and when I went to get them she said something along the lines of, “you don’t want any others boys to think you’re not married, right?!”

Tonight, as I was getting her ready for bed, I took them off to put some gel in her hair. I told her that she could wear them and hold them for me while I fixed her hair. She immediately lit up. She started singing a little song about being married, pretending they were her own.

She also frequently asks why I have two rings and daddy only has one.  I repeatedly explain to her the one with diamonds daddy asked if I would marry him. The other one is the one I said “I do.” I think she likes hearing about it.

So tonight we shared this sweet moment. I know that someday perhaps my three girls will all be married. My prayer for them is that they can find a man who loves them in return and who loves the Lord even more so, like my own.

