Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

It’s spring break!

Before this weekend I made myself a little list of things to do this week with the kids. The hubby is away, and the wife and kiddies must play. Unfortunately the week is beginning with chores (laundry and grocery shopping.) We will all be better off if we have food to eat and clean clothes to wear.

I have already heard “I’m bored” in the way the kids have been bickering with each other. They dare not admit it out loud. I did what any rational mom would do and threatened them with work and chores if they can’t find something to occupy their time today. It goes without saying that the afternoon has been relatively quiet.

This is the project I would like to be working on. This Christmas I received a sewing machine. I thought it would be a fun and easy project to make pillows and cushions for our outdoor patio space. My “great” idea slowly evolved into teaching myself  how to sew a more complicated seat cushion complete with piping on the edges. I could have taken the time to learn the right way, but this slacker mom invented her own way to sew and attach those piped edges. I think it’s turned out pretty well, considering. Never mind the fact that I made the cover too thick for the cushion I bought (that’s what the stuffing is for) and that you can’t really see it because the quality of the picture. (My camera is presently traveling around Turkey with the hubby.) This one still needs the bottom of the cushion to be attached. I have one more cushion to make. I can’t wait. More pictures to come to walk you through my crazy ways.

 

 

 

This is the project I have to finish first. As mentioned above, I must do the laundry. I could go on and on about how much I despise the laundry especially socks which is why I love flip-flop season, and I could try to make you understand that even though I hate it, I have to finish it all in one day so I don’t have to think about it again for a whole week, but I wouldn’t want to bore you with all that. Oh. oops. sorry.

Anyway, this is spring break. I made a list of things to do around the house (including my sewing project). I know the kids would be crazy by the end of the week if we spent everyday at home so I also planned several outings. I typed them out on a post-it on the computer. The Oldest, who has a clever sense of humor that she got from yours truly, saw the list and added a couple of her own ideas. One was a reminder that her BFF is staying the night. The other was to buy the kids candy. This started a little game between the two of us. I erased what she wrote and added “spank the kids” or something like that. She came back and wrote “trade the girls rooms with The Oldest’s”. I wrote, “Move the Oldest into the girls’ room and set up and office/craft room.”  I love little unexpected games like that.

One of my other goals this week is to try to post on the blog once everyday. It’s good to have an idea of what you want to do. Before I know it spring break will be over and the sprint to the end of the school year will begin. All I need now to make this a perfect week is some sunshine.

