Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

It seems, when you are a child, that it takes forever for 12 years to pass. I cannot believe that I have been a mother for 12 years today.

I will never forget that memorable day. She was supposed to have been born on May 1st. Every day that passed it seemed like it was taking forever. The night before, Alan had a dream about tornadoes. We were living in Memphis, and that kind of weather pattern was pretty normal. Also Oklahoma City had tragically suffered to many tornadoes just a couple of days before. So we didn’t think anything of it.

Alan was working on some school work at the house. He had just finished a paper to be turned in the next day.

I was talking to my mom on the phone. I’m sure I was complaining that it seemed like she would never be born. Just before we were about to hang up, I felt a small pop (like a water balloon). I didn’t say anything to my mom on the phone, but we got off right after. Sure enough my water had broken.

The next moments seemed to go in slow motion. Call the Doctor. Pack last minutes items in the bag. Tie up loose ends, and we were off. Alan was in a bit of a daze. When we stood that the trunk of the car to put the bag in, he just stood there. Staring.

Once we made it to the hospital, they got us into a room and we were set to have a baby.

Sometime towards the evening, we noticed that it looked a little stormy outside. We knew it was bad when the sky seemed a greenish color. Sure enough the weather turned really bad, and we were in a Tornado warning. I knew it was bad when the hospital lost its power and the generators came on, but there was no air conditioning. (Memphis in May is quite warm- especially when one is working hard.)

Before long we were blessed with a beautiful baby. I’ll never forget Alan’s first reaction. “It’s a baby, it’s a baby, it’s a baby.” That’s priceless!

She was born on a Wednesday evening. She was immediately a snuggler, even to this day. I will never forget those first few days together. Happy Birthday sweet girl of mine.

A couple of days after we were home was my very first Mother’s Day. I never knew that I was able or capable to have such deep love for someone so very small. There is nothing like holding your first baby and the depth of love that overwhelms you. Every Mother’s Day, I always tell her that she was my first Mother’s Day gift.

I know I appreciate my own mother more now that I am a mother. It’s not to say that I didn’t before, but I never could have understood the kind of love a mother has for her child until I was able to experience it myself.

Today we celebrate the beautiful life that God blessed us with. For me, it is also a reminder of all that my own mother means to me. She is a confidant, friend, one I can share my frustrations with, personal coach, adviser, counselor, encourager, personal cheerleader, supporter, reminder, conscience, warier of danger and risks, so much more, and best of all- she is my mom. I love you mom. Happy Mother’s Day

The Oldest with my mom. She is wearing a formal dress that my mom had in high school.

Tags: , ,

