Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I think summer is my favorite time of year to eat. Although, at times, it can be so hot that I lose my appetite, I enjoy all the fruits and vegetables that are fresh. Perhaps my parents are the main influence. My dad is the epitome of that saying, “you can take the boy out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the boy.” Even though he has lived in the D.C. metro longer than anywhere else, he is like a kid in a candy store at any fresh produce stand. I remember ALWAYS stopping at fruit stands on road trips during the summer months.

My all time favorite summer produce is peaches.

Not those hard, un-sweet things that are in the supermarket. I love the tender, sweet, fuzzy, orange and red fleshed peaches that come fully ripened and fresh from a tree.

Peaches also remind me of my grandma for a couple of reasons.

I remember we would often visit their house. She always had a lot of canned food that she had made. They were many times I remember eating nearly an entire jar of canned peaches by myself.

The other reason they remind me of her is because of her wonderful fruit cobbler she would make. My dad would say that the Blackberry cobbler is the best, but hands down the peach one wins. In fact, I would prefer a peach cobbler for my birthday and skip the birthday cake entirely.

This weekend I made Grandma’s recipe and it made me miss her. She taught me how to cross stitch one Spring Break when I visited them. She always had something yummy to eat when we would visit their farm-house that my dad grew up in. I love that she use to call me “Cookie”. As I baked the cobbler it was almost as if she was there with me again.

I hope that if you make this treat you make it for someone special that you love.

Grandma’s Fruit on the Bottom Cobbler

Makes two 8×8 or one 9×13 pan

  • Fresh or frozen fruit of your choice
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6 TB butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar (This could be reduced to a cup. Grandma liked it sweet)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 TB flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups boiling water

*If you like a thinner crust, you can cut the recipe in half.

Set oven to 375

Place fruit of your choice (fresh or frozen) on the bottom of a 9×13 cake pan, enough to cover the bottom.

Mix together 1 1/2 cups of sugar, 2 tsp baking powder, 2 cups flour, 1/2 tsp salt. Then add 1 cup milk and 6 TB butter, softened. Mix together and spread evenly on top of the fruit.

Mix together in a small bowl 1 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 TB flour, and 1 tsp cinnamon. Sprinkle on top of the crust. Pour 2 cups of boiling water on top. Then bake for 45 minutes or until crust is down. Serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Tags:

