Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

As we were making our way through the state fair last night, I couldn’t wait to get to the Children’s building, because they have some of the cutest farm animal exhibits. One of our favorites is the baby chicks. Who can resist a cute chick?

As we made our way, we noticed that in one of the boxes there were eggs about to hatch, and then we saw this one, pictured below. It was a chick that was actually hatching. Baby anything is adorable, so being able to witness this egg opening as the chick began it’s life was a really sweet moment. Sweet T was the most excited of the kids and refused to leave until the chick was born.

Remember how I said “moment”? Well, we quickly realized that it was going to take more than a few moments. There were other chicks in the display. The ones that were also most recently hatched looked dead, laying limp. Then there were the others that were running around, even trying to eat the shells that were now empty and broken. After standing there for some time with Sweet T, I finally convinced her that there was much more to see and that the baby was not going to come out soon.

We walked around, looking at the other animals and displays. Before leaving the building, we checked in on our little chick, and sure enough. . .it hadn’t made any more progress.

It made me think how I- like this little chick- never seem to make any progress. I don’t mean in the everyday, daily grind, daily chores and routines sense. I mean in the progress I make to situations that God has placed in my life. How I react to challenges placed in my life or path that help me to grow and develop into a stronger woman. In those times I feel like this chick.

Stuck!

I have all that I need to get out. I lack for nothing. Seeing this chick helped me to realize that it takes more. It takes time. It is the slow progression that the chick is making that is not seen. I can look at my current situation pessimistically “I have so far to go. I have given all that I can and this is all I have to show for it.” Or,  I can look at for what it is. “I am a chick hatching. Not a fluffy, cute, full energy baby, but I am a work in progress.”

Another way to put it is this,

For we are God’s workmanship,

Created in Christ Jesus to do good works,

Which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Ephesians 2:10

I can do anything that God empowers me to do. He has given me the tools. The real question is not, “can I”, but when. Maybe I think it should be done in a certain time or a certain way. Maybe I don’t deserve to be tested in the way that I am, however I have everything I need, in Christ, to come out of “the egg.” And even then, when I am finally out, I still have so much ahead of me. To get out of the shell is one thing, but these chicks also have to learn to open their eyes, walk, run, and experience life to the fullest.

As I watched that little chick it came to me that it was not struggling. The chick was resting and waiting. It would peck a little at the shell and then sleep.

It was a good reminder to me, that when I am in those times that I feel stuck, situations that I can’t seem to get out of, I should remember that I am GOD’S workmanship (not my own), prepared by Him to do what he will.

Tags: , , ,

