Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Today I’m thankful for The Oldest.

 

I had the honor this weekend to spend it as a host mom for our church’s big, fall, youth event. We had some of the 7th grade girls, which is why I am late posting days 5 and 6.

The Oldest was one of the girls at our house. Children seem to grow like weeds. It seems like the moment you blink they turn and grow-up. She is becoming a beautiful young lady. She has a unique balance of both Alan and I. She’s a really great oldest child, because she is well-balanced with independence and love. She cares deeply for others, and at the same time she has a fantastic sense of humor.

Although there are times she acts like a typical tween (the kind that is embarrassed to be seen with her parents), she really cares about things that are important to either of us. She also reminds me often of the need to show affection, and will sit in my lap and demand it if I forget. I just love that about her.

Although it can be hard for children to express their own faith in God, I see and hear the thing she says and does. I am most thankful to see her own love for God’s Word to know him more and share what she knows with others.

Today I am thankful for the Oldest.

11 Yours, LORD, is the greatness and the power 
   and the glory and the majesty and the splendor, 
   for everything in heaven and earth is yours. 
Yours, LORD, is the kingdom; 
   you are exalted as head over all. 
12 Wealth and honor come from you; 
   you are the ruler of all things. 
In your hands are strength and power 
   to exalt and give strength to all. 
13 Now, our God, we give you thanks, 
   and praise your glorious name.

1 Chronicles 29:11-13

Tags: , , ,

