Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Today I’m thankful for my parents.

This picture was taken several Thanksgivings ago.

I think that when you look at a person’s parenting style, you should look to see how the kids turn out, although this isn’t always the case (sometimes you have great parents with kids that make you scratch your head in wonder, and other times you have terrible parents who manage to turn out pretty decent kids). Oh sure, my parents could have done things differently, I fear that most people feel that way. When you have 7 kids, your bound to make mistakes along the way, but as a whole my parents did an incredible job in raising us.

When I think about my dad as a father, I am most grateful. A testimony to his love and dedication is seen in the way that my own brothers father. They each love their kids deeply and take (or took) the time to invest in their lives and interests. My dad would even show interest in our friends lives, modeling a father figure to them as well. When I think about my dad, he worked very hard to provide for our family, and made sacrifices of his own interest in order to provide for us.

My mom fills my heart with gratitude as well. It is a blessing to know her as an adult. She is not only my mom, but a best friend that I can call on at any time. Growing up, we never had to worry about things around the home, because our mom took the time to care for our needs. She (unlike myself) never complained about cooking, and doing laundry, making sure we had what we needed for school. But she also would take the time to share her life and interests with us.

My parents took the time to invest in our lives. They put their own wants aside and made huge sacrifices. They both have exemplified hard work and dedication, along with honesty. Their love for God was never pushed on us, although they took the time to teach us about their faith in God. I have many memories of family outings and day trips. Most of all my parents demonstrated unconditional love.

It is a testimony that they have been married for nearly 50 years. Their love for one another is not based on any modern notion of love, but the kind of love that puts the other first.

Today I’m thankful for my parents.

17 I will thank the LORD because he is just; I will sing praise to the name of the LORD Most High.

Psalm 7:17

Tags: , ,

