Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Today I am thankful for Missionaries.

I am quickly humbled when I complain about some trifle inconvenience to my day when I think about how little I truly sacrifice. As part of our Christian faith and association, our church, and many friends we know, have counted the cost and willingly (and often sacrificially) moved their families to a new home around the world. They have given up conveniences for trials; friends and families for strangers; modern technology for old, weathered, and often outdated; safety for danger; the known for unknown; and even health for sickness.

And they count it as nothing.

This morning I was reminded of that sacrifice as I was preparing for our Awana missions time. This evening we will be praying for Missionary Kids. When I was getting the prayer list ready, I came across a request for a child’s parents. They aren’t sleeping at night. Oh sure, I have nights when I can’t sleep because of extra elbows in my back, or I drank too much coffee, but again. . . trifle.

Today I am thankful for missionaries.

I took this picture this summer while I was in Ecuador.

3 I thank my God every time I remember you. 

4 In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy 

5 because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, 

6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Philippians 1:3

Tags: , ,

