Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I have many things I want to accomplish this year. In a way I hesitate to call them resolutions, however I am resolved to work towards these goals. In fact I have so many goals to work towards, there is no doubt that many of them will fail. (I guess I should just call them resolutions.)

One of the things I would like to do is make a more solid effort towards our house and home.

As a slacker mom, I must confess that I am also a messy. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE to have a clean and organized home, but it takes me time. When I clean up, I want those things put away properly. The old adage of “everything has a place, and there’s a place for everything” is my motto. I DO NOT like to stuff things in closets just to later pull it all out looking for that one item. So instead, I  live with a little mess until I have the time to REALLY clean it up and put it away. The problem is, my 4 older kids have no problem living in a mess. A really big mess!!

So to help me organize and clean up I will try to share each week one of the ways that I am bringing more organization to my life.

I don’t know about you, but over the years I have collected many loose recipes. These are accumulated magazine articles, recipes from friends, and even a few from strangers. Long before they could be pinned. A couple of years ago I bought a recipe book that was made to write and collect recipes in.

IMG_6945

I know I will never get the recipes transferred. However in an effort to save myself time of shuffling through all loose papers when I need that “ONE” recipe and to help reduce the amount of clutter I have come up with a plan. Every time I make one of those dishes I will simply add the recipe into the book before I begin. It takes only a few minutes, once the recipe is added I can toss the loose paper away.

Organization doesn’t have to happen all at once. So I am tackling the messy world one recipe at a time.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

