Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

 

How did it get so late so soon? It’s night before it’s afternoon. December is here before it’s June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon?
~ Dr. Seuss

I remember a time when I use to think that it would be forever before time would pass. I no longer think in those terms. Now all I want is for time to stop, but it only speeds up more quickly. Alan and I were talking about the coming year. My parents will celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary at the tend of this year, which is amazing to me. (we will celebrate out 19th- which blows my mind even more.) As we were talking about the kids and how sweet T will be turning 10….that leaves only two that will be in the single digits. Time slips away! With that, I pause to remember what 2013 looked like for our family, one month at a time. Here are a couple of links to previous years, and to looking for a full and adventurous 2014.

2010

2012

IMG_2498

January

We took the kids to sledding in a baseball field the last day of Winter break in January. It’s a big deal, because Oklahoma has no hills that are good for sledding.

IMG_7153

February

February was the only day it snowed (well until December), but it didn’t start until time for the girls to go to school- which wasn’t cancelled. Since The Boy was the only one home-schooled he got to play in it. It was almost all melted by time they got home from school. We also closed at the end of February on this home that we leased for two years. It’s not a good picture of the house, but it symbolizes this huge achievement for our family.

IMG_7464

March

March, for 2012, meant an early Easter. For our family, it was a sad weekend. Early March, we discovered Daphne had a growing tumor of some sort. Her health quickly declined, and she left a huge whole in our hearts. We still miss her so much.

IMG_7757

April

April is a symbol of the end of the year. We had lots of programs at school, end of year testing, spring air, etc.  Looking through my pictures and blog, it was also a time of great loss and hardships for many of my friends. Oh- the seasons of life, each one unique and filled with times of great triumph and times of deep sorrow.

IMG_7989

May

Looking through my 2013 calendar, May, August and December (well and October) were our busiest months. We ran in the Color Me Rad 5K, celebrate  two birthdays, end of school, this year the Oldest “graduated” from 8th grade, a wedding, and family time. Of course on top of that, there was the May 19th and 20th tornadoes in Oklahoma as well.

June

June

June we disappeared for three weeks. Alan taught a summer class on the east coast, so we made a holiday of it. We saw both sets of our parents, my brother’s family, and all our friends from NC that are really more like family. It was a time we will never forget. I have decided that if I ever have a mental breakdown or depression that I want to be placed on the beach to do nothing but soak up the sun and tranquil sea breeze. There I said it.

IMG_9272

July

July is always full with catching up from holiday, 4th of July, and my birthday. This year we went to the salt flats in Nowhere, OK and dug for crystals. It was a perfect day, staying in the 80’s (which for Oklahoma is amazing).

IMG_9592

August

August, as I have already mentioned is a busy month for us as well. School starts back, I started working more at my job, Titus  turned 1. The Boy started school for the first time in public school this year, which was a HUGE adjustment for him. We have taken it on day at a time, and he is doing very well. Although he would never admit it, I think he even likes it. a little.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

September

September

 

 

 

I don’t know what happened in September. Another birthday, but then after that is gets a little blurry. This picture is just a sample. I was going to do a series of posts about the cool observations I made with all the neat things we found at the beach, and…..well…….. yeah…..it didn’t happen. So I’ll mention on of the things here. We discovered that the shells fit inside each other if you line them up by size and shape.

never mind.

 

 

 

 

 

October

October

 

 

 

Sweet T finally won a Halloween costume contest at Alan’s employment. Everyone (but Titus) has officially won something. It was a really big deal. Now, she said, “It doesn’t matter if I win again.” She is the one taking a bubble bath on the front step.

 

 

 

 

 

November

November

 

 

 

We love the fall. Or rather- I love the fall. It is our tradition to go up to the university and take pictures. They are difficult to get to co-operate, but once in a while they pull it together. I must be trigger ready, because it won’t last long. My 5 little blessings.

Must. stop. them. growing.

 

 

 

 

December

December

 

 

 

And in a flash the year is over. Alan turned the big 4-0. We filled everyday with as much parties and sharing time as we possibly could. And now we have said good-byes to those memories. We look forward to tomorrow with boldness knowing that no matter what it holds, we have each other. Here is to wishing you a happy 2014

Tags: , , , , ,

