Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

I have a confession to make. it’s not really a confession as much as a public admission.

I am a messy.

I know. Shock and awe!

Perhaps it’s the artistic side of me, I think. The slacker-mom, always-late, always-messy me. Don’t get me wrong, I love a clean house. I love a place for everything and everything in its place. I have baskets and cubbies for all the kids toys, and my scrap fabric is organized by color shades. My junk drawers have little slots and storage things.

BUT I can also overlook a mess, for sake of time. By time I mean, I want the time to put it away properly and there is never enough time. unlike my other half. He is also a messy, but to him clean means out-of-sight-out-of-mind. A cabinet is meant for stuff that you stuff full with your stuff that you don’t have time to organize but now you don’t have to look at the stuff.

Whenever he leaves town on a trip I enjoy the non-pressure of my messy house. I usually have a project or two that I always work on while he is gone. Sometimes that includes a cleaning/organizing project. Usually a couple of days before he returns I whip the house into shape, threatening encouraging the kids to not mess it up.

My projects are also a lot like my tidy habits. Sporadic. I have lots of things I want to do and make, but I usually end up with a long list of things I never do or make. This is why I generally try to avoid Pintrest. It only makes me want to make more things. I do, however,  LOVE LOVE LOVE to bookmark. Yes, I usually bookmark more than what I make/do, but it seems less overwhelming. It’s all the same I suppose. This last year I made three pillows, a chenille blanket, two rugs for the porch, several hair ties, learned to make a ruffle, helped one of the girls make a Native Navajo outfit, and several other things…..then I came across this blog where she set a goal to finish 50 projects, and I thought to myself- I could do that. In doing so it will help me to blog more, and encourage me to finish things I’ve started {or at least intended to start}. That is a measly four projects a month and I am going to include cooking/baking new things with my projects list.

So my first nifty to do was to create a logo, of sorts. Ta-da!

Do you have any great things for me to try? I would love some feedback.

Nifty 50

Tags: , , ,

