Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

We had quite the weekend! The youngest daughter (who is 7) was coming down with the ickies. She loves to be sick and miss school. As a last-minute decision to not fight her on the way out the door to school on Thursday, I gave in and let her stay home. (with only cold-like symptoms. It was a weak moment.) Then came Friday, she was only running a low-grade, so I decided with the bad weather coming, I should have her swabbed. We seem to live in a constant state of Strep throat. I took her in, they tested for strep and flu, and she came up positive with both. I patted myself on the back for making the right call while the medical staff lowered their eyebrows at me for not getting flu shots. (Go ahead, judge me, I don’t mind.) 

As we were wrapping things up, the Doc asked if I was feeling down, which I wasn’t, but that reminded me that Alan had not been feeling well. He wrote him a script to save us a trip. He also had the flu, and most likely gave it to the 7 year old. (They see us A LOT, and even have a parking space just for our family. kidding) I restocked the kitchen with food, made last-minute preparations. I could tell the baby wasn’t feeling well. He was very clingy. It was mother’s instinct, for sure. I kept checking his temp, listening closely to his cough. As we were settling in for bed, Saturday night, it finally hit him. First he disposed of his dinner, then lunch, then pretty much dry heaved three more times. Babies are very fun (insert sarcasm) with the stomach bug because there is no warning. EVER.

Long story short, it snowed, but with so many sick ones, hardly any of us got to play in it. I love the snow. I love to play in it, photograph it, even shovel it. But not this time. The baby does NOT like the snow. Well, he likes the snow, just not the cold that goes with it. This time we enjoyed it from the warmth of our home. The following pictures are of him, watching it fall.

IMG_0577 IMG_0581 IMG_0583 IMG_0588 IMG_0589 IMG_0607 IMG_0608 IMG_0610

Tags: , , , , , ,

