Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

3 weeks before Easter I decided that I would read through the Gospel of John leading up to Easter. It is one of my favorites and is so full of deep theology and rich emotion. It was truly a wonderful thing. Not only was I reading it, but I also decided that I would use a journaling Bible that Alan got me for Christmas.

Recently I have discovered an amazing group in the cyber world who are involved in the illustrated faith movement. I call it a movement, although some may not consider it so.

Illustrated Faith is a group of people (which is primarily women, but not completely) who illustrate verses, songs, art, etc in the margins and pages of their Bibles. It is a form of art worship. Some are great at lettering, others at drawing. Some us stamps, stickers and scrapbooking skills. Really there is no right or wrong way. Some cover the words up with illustrations so they can’t be read, but others purposely avoid that. If you have a chance, check out this site.

So I thought I would share my pages I journaled from the Gospel of John.

For the first chapter, there are so many great verses I wanted to highlight that I choose 3. The word, Jesus is the light of life, and the lamb that takes away the sin of the world.

IMG_6196-1.JPG

The second chapter I wanted to highlight the central theme of belief and journal some thoughts about that. What I hope is to pass this Bible down to one of my kids and it be a treasure of my faith.

IMG_6197.JPG

Chapter 3 I again highlighted “belief”. Jesus repeats this phrase over and over in the gospel. Belief in Him is what brings about eternal life.

IMG_6198-0.JPG

Chapter 4 is the woman at the well, so I choose to draw a coffee cup. Also highlighted a verse from Matthew about harvest.

IMG_6199.JPG

 

IMG_6200.JPG

IMG_6201

In chapter 6, I wanted to journal a little about the significance of Jesus’ “I Am” statement, but didn’t have much room. I used a “tip in” which is adding a photo or paper that can be folded back.

IMG_6203.JPG

IMG_6202

IMG_6204-0

 

 

 

IMG_6205.JPG

 

IMG_6206-0.JPG

IMG_6207-0.JPG

IMG_6208-0.JPG

IMG_6209.JPG

IMG_6210.JPG

IMG_6211.JPG

IMG_6212.JPG

IMG_6213.JPG

IMG_6214.JPG

IMG_6215.JPG

IMG_6216.JPG

IMG_6217-0.JPG

IMG_6218.JPG

IMG_6219.JPG

Tags: , , , ,

