Skip to content

According to Us

One Husband, One Wife, Five Children and Everything in Between

Today I’m thankful for The Boy.

Photo courtesy of Tasha York Photography

I have the privilege of staying home with the Boy everyday. He is the quiet, shy one of the 4 kids. I think this is part of the reason he wanted to be home schooled again. It’s a special time that we share together. I love to tease him, because at the end of the day he still wants me to tuck him in. I always say to him, “oh, you didn’t get enough mommy time today?”

The Boy is the kindest, most gentle boy I have ever met. He really cares about others feelings (although, when it comes to his sisters, it is a little different.) He has zero tolerance for mean kids, and doesn’t mind playing by himself if those are his only options. Despite this tender side of him, he is definitely still made from snakes, snails, and puppy dog tails.

If you give the boy a box, duct tape, and some scissors he could play for days with only those things. Rocks and sticks are his second favorite.

Some of his favorite shows are on the History Channel. He loves learning and exploring.

He is very sentimental about everything he owns. EVERYTHING. Toy Story 3 depressed him because Andy gave his toys away at the end. (Sorry for the spoiler if you haven’t seen it.) It makes it difficult for me to clean out things he no longer plays with. I have to do it secretly.

Today I’m thankful for the Boy.

 

17 I will give thanks to the LORD because of his righteousness; 
   I will sing the praises of the name of the LORD Most High.

Psalm 7:17

Tags: , , ,